The Last Five-Star Books I've Read
| |

The Last Five-Star Books I’ve Read

The Last Five-Star Books I’ve Read

This year hasn’t been the best reading year for me – although there are still a few weeks to go. Today, as part of Blogtober, I am going to be sharing the five-star books I’ve read this year.

Mrs Wickham by Sarah Page

First up is a recent read/listen, an Audible original written by Sarah Page and performed by Jessie Buckley and Johnny Flynn. This is a sequel to Pride & Prejudice following Lydia Wickham after her disastrous marriage to Mr Wickham. It’s a hilarious 2 hour audiobook with a full cast and a Bridgerton-esque vibe to it. Very enjoyable for fans of Jane Austen and Julia Quinn.

Heartstopper Vol 2-3 by Alice Oseman

Next up are two of the Heartstopper graphic novels by Alice Oseman. I raced through these two and absolutely adored them. This LGBT teenage love story is just the epitome of cute and heartwarming. Like a hug in a book.

I’m Glad My Mom Died by Jennette McCurdy

This next book is the opposite of a hug in a book. This is a memoir by Jennette McCurdy, Sam from iCarly, for fans of Nickolodeon. It’s a harrowing memoir about her experiences of eating disorders, a childhood spent in showbiz, and the abuse she suffered at the hands of her mother. It’s a very hard read but very important and I applaud Jennette McCurdy for her bravery.

Making It by Jay Blades

Another fantastic memoir is Jay Blades Making It. Jay is the host of The Repair Shop, one of my family’s all-time favourite TV shows. Jay’s life is fascinating and his memoir is raw and very honest. He does not hide his true colours, especially when it comes to his relationships with women. The other big element within the story is his journey through dyslexia and not learning how to properly read until his 50s. A fascinating and heartfelt story.

This Much Is True by Miriam Margoyles

And finally, yet another memoir. This time a hilarious, witty, and extremely rude one. This Much Is True by Miriam Margoyles will have you grimacing but also laughing so much your sides hurt. Her life as an actress takes a back seat compared to her relationships with her parents and her life growing up as an extremely candid Jewish woman with no filter. I loved it.

What have been your five-star books of 2022 so far? Let me know in the comments below.

Love Ellie x

Twitter // Facebook // Pinterest // Bloglovin // Instagram // Waterstones // TikTok

The Last Five-Star Books I've Read

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply