Favourite Books of 2022
| | | | |

Favourite Books of 2022

Favourite Books of 2022

I love writing this post each year. It’s my chance to look back and share my Favourite Books of 2022.

These are my favourite reads from the last 12 months, across all formats and all genres.

Favourite Books of 2022

Beyond the Wand by Tom Felton

All fans of Harry Potter should read this book. It’s a love letter to the movies and Tom’s experiences on set. From smoking with Michael Gambon to standing on Alan Rickman’s cape, his friendship with his soulmate, Emma Watson, and his struggles after the movies were completed. It’s a shocking yet wonderful read, and it made me like Tom Felton even more

Madly, Deeply: The Alan Rickman Diaries

Another one for fans of Harry Potter – but don’t expect much Harry Potter content. I devoured this hardback when it came out. It was so lovely to be back in a world with Alan Rickman, though he passed away in 2016. His diaries are insightful into the man, as opposed to the actor. Fascinating, intelligent and special.

This Much Is True by Miriam Margoyles

Memoirs were definitely my favourite genre this year, and it started with This Much Is True by Miriam Margoyles. This hilarious and irreverent memoir is utterly brilliant. I listened to the audiobook, narrated by Miriam herself, and it was a great experience. I guffawed and shared anecdotes with everyone I could find. Well worth a read if you haven’t already.

I’m Glad My Mom Died by Jennette McCurdy

This memoir was the opposite of funny. A harrowing read from former child actress, Jennette McCurdy. I was a big fan of iCarly growing up, though my mum hated it. I was surprised to discover that Jennette had left the industry, but this book explains why. It was never her dream to be an actress, it was her mother’s. She was mistreated by nearly all the adults in her life and she suffered a lot as a result, but this book doesn’t focus just on the suffering but also on her healing process and her new life outside of the industry. It’s incredibly raw and a difficult read in places, but very well done and I look forward to reading more from Jennette McCurdy in future.

Mrs Wickham by Sarah Page

We take a break from memoirs to discuss this sequel to Pride and Prejudice. An Audible Original Drama, starring Jessie Buckley and Johnny Flynn as Lydia Wickham and Mr Wickham respectively. This funny and short sequel to Pride and Prejudice is very enjoyable from the hilarious insults shared between Lydia Wickham and Mr Wickham, to the romance that eventually blooms between them. Fans of Bridgerton and Pride and Prejudice, we’ll enjoy this story.

Making It by Jay Blades

Another memoir! This time from Jay Blades, who is the main host of The Repair Shop on BBC. My family and I love that show and I was interested to hear more about Jay Blades’ story as I didn’t know much about him. His story is another shocking one. From his being one of 28 siblings, on his father’s side, to his inability to read until the age of 50 due to undiagnosed dyslexia. Jay’s life has been a hard one, but he shares the story with ease, comedy and his signature London swagger.

Heartstopper Vol 2-4 by Alice Oseman

I had previously read the first graphic novel in the Heartstopper series by Alice Oseman and loved it, but never got the following three novels because of money. The Works ran a sale offering 2 for £12, and I got Book 2 on Amazon for 99p, so I finally got the chance to read them. The story of Charlie and Nick is addictive and adorable. I love it and highly recommend other readers, young and old, give it a read. It’s a treat.

Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain

I had heard many things about Kitchen Confidential throughout the years but had never had the chance to read this famous memoir. I love books about food though so this book was right up my alley. The lifestyle of being a chef, especially a Michelin-star chef, is similar to that of a rockstar. Coffee, drugs, alcohol and celebrities dominate, and if you’re good you can be famous too. A fascinating insight into this adrenaline-fueled career.

What were your favourite books of 2022? Let me know in the comments below.

Love Ellie x

Twitter // Facebook // Pinterest // Bloglovin // Instagram // Waterstones // TikTok

Favourite Books of 2022

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply